A Heart-Shaped Relationship Spread

In Tarot, the single most requested reading topic is love. Not just love, but love. All-caps he-loves-me-he-loves-me-not LOVE. However, despite the popularity of love readings in the Tarot world, this is a subject I’ve really never touched on the blog. Today, we’re going to remedy that.

Below is a relationship spread that I made up last week in a reading for a friend. I only noticed after the fact that it’s vaguely heart-shaped (something that I’ve tried to highlight with a wonky hand-drawn heart in the picture; pardon my poor photo-editing skills).

Heart spread

The cluster on the top left represents Partner A. The cluster on the top right represents Partner B. And the cluster on the bottom represents the prospects for their relationship together.

  1. Partner A’s personality
  2. What Partner A wants
  3. What Partner A needs
  4. What Partner A offers
  5. Partner B’s personality
  6. What Partner B wants
  7. What Partner B needs
  8. What Partner B offers
  9. A strength in the relationship
  10. A challenge in the relationship
  11. Outcome

[Nota Bene: If you like to use significators, then cards 1 and 5 can be replaced with significators for the relevant partners.]

This spread turned out quite nicely, and it’s one that I think I’ll keep around for relationship readings in the future. I like it because it affords me the opportunity to examine each partner as a complex individual before moving on to their partnership; too many love spreads spend too little time addressing how partners function apart before bringing them together.

As always, if you give this spread a try, please comment and let me know how it reads for you. I’ve been absent from the blog for a couple of weeks, mostly because I’ve been traveling. I moved out of my place in New York,** and am currently on the West Coast visiting my parents. I start my Ph.D program next week. (And I’m totally not freaking out. Nope. Not me. Nothing to see here.) Hopefully, if I can get my act together, I’ll be back with another post next week, a second love-related post where I talk about the relationship between the Lovers and the Two of Cups. Until then, enjoy the spread!


*And thank goodness it is, because somehow the accolades have not yet started pouring in from the four corners of the Earth. I continue to work away in brilliant, humble anonymity.

**And I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this at any point on the blog, but I. HATE. PACKING. It is one of my least favorite things. The list goes something like:
1. Genocide
2. Unpunctuality
3. Packing

[EDIT: I have no idea why the title of this page decided to move the D from “Spread” down onto its own line, and I don’t know how to fix that formatting error. Sorry for the ugliness.]

4 thoughts on “A Heart-Shaped Relationship Spread

  1. Isn’t that funny? I say I’ll test-drive your arrangement with my next love & romance client, and then everybody asks general / life or business questions for a week. (laughing) At any rate, I did get to test drive your arrangement a few times this week and no matter the hokey heart-shaped configuration – “Why does every arrangement have to be in a silly shape?” – it’s actually quite useful. It provides a succinct message while still offering enough meat to keep things interesting. Looking at what partners offer and how that offer lines up with who they are, what they need, and what they want does a good job of showing not just motivation but also perspective. I’m not certain that I’ll use this arrangement as-is in every love / relationship reading, but I’m definitely going to include the position of what each person offers / contributes in my future readings. Top notch, thanks for sharing.

    Like

    1. Sorry it took me so long to respond to your comment! My Ph.D has officially started, and it’s been a whirlwind. I’m glad you found the spread effective. The heart shape is definitely hokey, but I tend to get bored with simple arc- or cross-shaped spreads (no matter how effective they are). This is what happens when I try to mix things up.

      As always, thanks for reading! Your comments always make me smile.

      Like

Leave a Reply

