Happy World Tarot Day!

In hindsight, I should probably have had some kind of big sparkly blog post up my sleeve for today, but I don’t. So happy World Tarot Day to everyone. I woke up this morning to find this video in my YouTube subscription feed.

Oh, Marcus Katz, you befuddling British man. I genuinely can’t tell if this is a promotional campaign or an actual “this-ain’t-us”. Because on the one hand, when you say, “This ain’t us”, I’m going to believe you. This is especially the case when it involves a website that asks people to provide personal information. If you tell me that’s not legitimate, there’s no way I’m trusting it.

On the other hand, at no point did Katz say anything like “Please do not, under any circumstances, provide your contact information to this site”, and that’s something that you’d think he would do if the site weren’t somehow affiliated with his association. And he provided the link to the website in the description of the video, which would be a terrible thing to do if it was some spammy nonsense.

There’s probably something I don’t know about here. I’m not a member of the Tarosophy Tarot Association, so I don’t know what “Project W” is meant to be. Similarly, I had no idea that the Tarot Tribune mentioned in the video was a thing (a casual Google search doesn’t turn up any useful results). Katz’s vague newspeak (how else would we know it’s him?) along the lines of “I can neither confirm nor deny” makes me think this is all a PR attempt of some sort, but I must say I find it a confusing one. And I’m not likely to provide my info to that website if there’s even the slightest chance that there’s something amiss with it.

I think there’s also a good possibility that this is somehow an inside joke that I simply don’t have the context to appreciate. If anyone cares to enlighten me, I’d be much obliged.

Regardless, happy World Tarot Day, everyone! I don’t have a snappy catch phrase the way Katz does, but I hope you all have a wonderful day.

il_fullxfull-314319503

 

One thought on “Happy World Tarot Day!

Leave a Reply

