Counting Blackbirds Spread for Business

One for sorrow, two for joy,
Three for a girl, four for a boy,
Five for silver, six for gold,
And seven for a secret never to be told.

Some of you may know this rhyme from the Counting Crows song “A Murder of One”, but for others it’s an old European fortune-telling tradition: if you have a question on your mind, look out the window and count the number of crows (or ravens, or magpies, depending on your regional blackbirdery) to receive an answer (albeit an extremely cryptic one).

Quite a while back, I took this rhyme and I converted it into a seven-card Tarot spread for business endeavors or just for new projects in general. I was feeling particularly creative at the time, so instead of just a simple seven-card plop onto the table, I decided to make things a bit more interesting:

Deal your first card, face-up, on the far left of the table. That’s card 1.

Next, move slightly to the right, and deal a card face-down. You won’t actually read with this card, but with the next card in the stack, which you place face-up on top of it. That is card 2.

And then you move to the right and create a third column–this time with two face-down cards and one face-up (to which we shall henceforth refer as card 3). You do this, unsurprisingly, until you have seven columns of cards. Column 1 has one card in it, column 2 has two cards, and so on until column 7, which has a total of seven cards in it (although we only read with the last one, card 7, which is placed face-up). The whole spread ends up looking like you’re playing a game of Solitaire; the only difference is that instead of dealing everything out horizontally, in rows, you do so vertically, in columns.

Yeah, yeah. I know. The numbers on the cards are all backwards. I got the picture off Wikipedia, because it was the only one I could find that I knew wasn't copyrighted, but I had to flip the image around so that it looked like the kind of Solitaire setup I'm talking about. Just mentally remove the backwards playing cards and insert Tarot cards instead.
Yeah, yeah. I know. The numbers on the cards are all backwards. I got the picture off Wikipedia, because it was the only one I could find that I knew wasn’t copyrighted, but I had to flip the image around so that it looked like the kind of Solitaire setup I’m talking about. Just mentally remove the backwards playing cards and insert Tarot cards instead.

The card meanings are as follows:

1. Sorrow – a negative influence on the project
2. Joy – a positive influence on the project
3. A girl (feminine energy) – the way the project is affected by the outside world
4. A boy (masculine energy) – the effect the project has on the outside world
5. Silver – one possible outcome
6. Gold – another possible outcome
7. A secret – something beyond the querent’s knowledge or control

I like this spread because it shows two different directions that a project could take, which can be very useful in something like business. I’ve used this spread several times for myself and for others, in a variety of settings; one querent was questioning the direction she had chosen for her career, whereas another simply wanted to know whether it would be worthwhile to take up art as a hobby. Regardless, I’ve always found it quite useful and insightful.

If you, dear reader, happen to use this spread at some point in the future, please feel free to drop me a comment and let me know how it reads for you. I’d love to hear about your experience. Otherwise, that’s all I have for now. Hasta luego.

4 thoughts on “Counting Blackbirds Spread for Business

  1. AHHHHHH! I just did this spread for a friend of mine. 🙂 She has been working with the goddess Morrigan and the blackbird spread is freaking perfect. we cannot get over how amazing this is. Thank you, thank you! I will be using this on myself at some point. Wow. Just, wow. I really love this.

    Like

Leave a Reply

